I Am Malala

I Am Malala is about the true story of a Pakistan girl named Malala Yousafzai who was shot in the head by the Taliban and how she stood up for her right to be educated.

I know what you’re thinking.  “Oh, its a biography. Boring. I’m going to go read Divergent.” But it isn’t a boring story. Its sort of like reading a realistic fiction book, except all the events are true.

I found it exciting to look into Malala’s life and what she felt and how she took a stand for her education.

I also like that the prologue, which jumps to when Malala was about to be shot, ends there, and moves on to chapter one, which is years be the prologue happened. That gives suspense, and introduces Malala as a regular girl.

And teachers: I think this would be a good story for a 6th Grade class reading book because:

a) Its actually interesting!

(I remember that when I was younger, I had to read this TOTALLY boring book about this boy who was always getting into trouble. It was probably about 2 reading levels below what we were supposed to be reading at.)

And at the end, my class had to answer about a million open-ended responses. Yay.

b) It will teach your students about what’s going on in the world and who Malala is.

(They’ve probably heard her name a lot but don’t know who she is. In fact, that’s what happened to me. When my teacher had us watch a speech of Malala’s for LA, I was embarrassed to admit I had absolutely no idea who she was.)

I would give this book five out of five stars.

I Am Malala

5 thoughts on “I Am Malala

Leave a Reply

