My Life as a Joke

I read one of the books in this series during 4th.

(The whole school had to, so I really had no choice.)

So, I remembered the “My Life” books and I was like “Oh look. They added on more ‘My Life’ books! I guess I’ll try one!”

And I did.

In My Life as a Joke, Derek makes a New Year’s resolution to take things more seriously. Obviously, it isn’t really working or there would be NO PLOT whatsoever.

Shortly after making his resolution, Derek volunteers for a toy drive (hence, the resolution) and of course get stuck with finding dolls for the drive. (In his opinion, the WORSE CATEGORY EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Then Derek finds out that someone donated a Baby Karen doll, which is worth hundreds of dollars. He ditches trying to take things more seriously and sells Baby $ on ebay.

But the person who buys the doll demands her money back and Derek spent it all on a monster truck bouncy house.

I thought it was interesting to see how Derek would get himself out of this mess.

My Life as a joke also has a bunch of mini illustrations of words in the story, which is a nice side addition.

Overall, I guess I would give this book four stars, and I would recommend it to 3rd to 5th graders.

My Life as a Joke

Leave a Reply

