The Accidental Genius of Weasel High

Today was the first day of spring.

Well, not really. It just FELT like the first day of spring because

a) I could actually wear my fav super-thin hoodie (technically its my aunt’s) instead of bulky puffer jacket.

b) I saw a real live actual dandelion! (I put a pic of it at the end because I could not figure out how to put it here. :))

Anyway, enough about me. Back to the book. The Accidental Genius of Weasel High isn’t like anything I’ve read before. There really wasn’t a BIG main idea, but here is my breakdown of it:

Main Character:

Larkin Pace. Obsessed with becoming the next great filmmaker. Wants a camcorder.

Minor Characters:

Mom and Dad- Isn’t it obvious who they are?

Kelly- Larkin’s obnoxious older sister who gets her way every single time.

Mrs. Grubnik- Grouchy old lady who Larkin works for to earn camcorder money.

Dalton Cooke- Annoying handsome guy and nemesis of Larkin.

Brooke- Who Larkin thinks is his girlfriend.

Freddie- Larkin’s friend.

Problems:

Larkin desperately wants a camcorder but is having trouble getting the money for it.

Brooke doesn’t think of Larkin as her boyfriend.

Dalton is “stealing” Brooke and is bugging Larkin.

Kelly is being super annoying and overly dramatic.

Larkin is short.

There’s another thing you need to know: The Accidental Genius of Weasel High is a half graphic novel half regular chapter book. Sort of like Big Nate or Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Or a picture book with a lot of words that’s for 6th to 9th graders.

This book was good, but not so good that it would be on my “Top 50 Books I’ve Read In My Lifetime” list. Or my “Top 100 Books I’ve Read In My Lifetime” list. It was sort of boring to me and not very funny. (unless this book is for high schoolers and has some sort of secret high school humor that middle schoolers don’t know about, then no, it wasn’t that funny.)

I would give The Accidental Genius of Weasel High 3 stars, but overall I guess the book was okay.

P.S. Is the abbreviation for favorite “fav?” or “fave?” Cause’ I’ve been saying fav.

A real live actual dandelion!
A real live actual dandelion!
The Accidental Genius of Weasel High

Leave a Reply

